top of page
  • aa19339

Female Independence Playlist


Let us remember the women suffragettes, all who came before us to fight for female independence. And in that spirit, let us rejoice in our emancipation, and independence and pray for our global sisters who are currently oppressed, that they one day know this freedom.


Creator: Ama Antwi-Saki (Sociology & Human Rights)

1. Independent Woman - Destiny’s Child


A cheerful bop for all the independent woman to cheerfully sing along to, “The shoes on my feet (I bought it) the clothes I'm wearing (I bought it) the rock I'm rocking (I bought it) ‘cause I depend on me if I want it”. Remember your worth and shed yourself of old-fashion ideals, we don’t need or rely on men, those are days gone - let’s celebrate our independence


2. No Scrubs - TLC


"No, I don't want your number, no I don't want to give you mine" - In the spirit of normalising saying no, and feeling un-obliged to be 'polite' to men in rejection, and speaking our minds and not settling. Let's all sing the anthem, 'No Scrubs'.


3. Single Ladies - Beyoncé


“We just broke up, I’m up in the club, doing my own lil thing” - “If you like it, should have put a ring on it”. - Ladies, this is a rhythmic reminder to do our own thing, celebrate singleness and shed yourself of the weight of societal expectations of happiness.


4. Needed Me - Rihanna


“I was good on my own, that’s the way it was” - “f*** your white horse and your carriage, bet you never could imagine - never told you, you could have it. You needed me”. A sassy and clever song to quash female stereotypes about wanting fairy tale endings. We are not defined by our relationships or sexual history.


5. So What - P!NK

The ultimate I don't need a man to validate me, I am whole, complete and thriving with or without a man pop song. "So, so what? I am a rock star, I got my rock moves - and I don't need you" - written during a break in P!NK's marriage and media frenzy she reminds all "I'm still a rockstar"

6. Sue Me - Sabrina Carpenter


“Feeling myself can’t be illegal, so sue me, for looking too pretty tonight. Wearing your favourite colour under the lights, for moving on doing everything right.” - Sabrina’s ‘Sue Me’ is a reminder to live unapologetically


7. Sorry Not Sorry - Demi Lavato


In the spirit of unapologetically not needing men, Demi’s ‘Sorry Not Sorry’ is a sassy clapback of fierce independence and unapologetically loving oneself. “Now I'm out here looking like revenge feelin' like a 10, the best I ever been and yeah, I know how bad it must hurt to see me like this, but it gets worse. Now you're out here looking like regret - ain't too proud to beg, second chance you'll never get. And yeah, I know how bad it must hurt to see me like this but it gets worse” “Baby, I’m sorry I’m not sorry”.


8. Big Spender - Kiana Ledé (feat. Prince Charlez)


"No f*** boys allowed in my aura - misses want a mister, not for his dollar. If you're tryna flex, don't bother, 'cause I'm a big spender, bling on my agenda". Kiana Ledé's catchy


9. No - Meghan Trainer


"If I want a man then ima get a man but it's never my priority". - Sing along to this catchy anthem as you remember you do not owe men a thing, let's normalise saying 'no'.


10. Me & My Girls - Selena Gomez


"If we want it we take it, If we need money we make it" - Selena celebrates female friendship as well as female independence in her pop anthem 'Me & My Girls'.


11. Boyfriend - Selena Gomez


"There's a difference between a want and a need, some nights I just want more than me, I know that there's a fine line between - it's not what I need, but I want a boyfriend". Female Independence means the right to choose, some nights you may want a boyfriend - so long as it's not a need, that's okay.





26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

INE

CO.

COM

Listen Now

© 2022 by INECO.

bottom of page