top of page
  • aa19339

Gender Inequality Playlist


A playlist to call out the societal norms that divide and separate us - whilst listening to this playlist contemplate the lessons to be learned from these inequalities to prove a more hopeful future.

Creator: Ama Antwi-Saki (Sociology & Human Rights)


1. If I Were A Boy - Beyoncé


Beyonce’s If I Were A Boy, addresses the societal hypocrisy between men and women concerning infidelity. “Chase after girls I'd kick it with who I wanted and I'd never get confronted for it’ cause they'd stick up for me.” - In this thought provoking song, Beyoncé wants us to quesion ‘why aren’t men confronted more about bad behaviours?’, ‘why is this the norm?’ And ‘why is this encouraged?’ She depicts what she do, living a life of selfishness and no accountability for infidelity singing “I’d put myself first and make the rules as I go ‘cause I know that she'd be faithful, waitin' for me to come home, to come home”. - The takeaway from this song is to question norms and challenge the status quo.


2. Like A Boy - Ciara


In Ciara’s ‘Like A Boy’ she indirectly addresses society, asking them to hold men to accountability rather than encouraging their infidelity. “What if I, had a thing on the side, made you cry? Would the rules change up or would they still apply?If I played you like a toy - sometimes I wish I could act like a boy” Ultimately she knows society is against women practising these terrible behaviours, but becoming fed up she encourages her female listeners to play tit for tat. “Girl, go ahead and be (just like 'em), go run the streets (just like 'em), go home, missin' sleep like 'em, creep like 'em, front wit' your friends, act hard when you wit' 'em, like 'em, keep a straight face when you tell a lie - always keep an airtight alibi.

Keep it hid in the dark, what he don't know won't break his heart”.


3. The Man - Taylor Swift

“I'm so sick of running as fast as I can, - wondering if I'd get there quicker if I was a man. And I'm so sick of them coming at me again ‘cause if I was a man - then I'd be the man”. In a raw honest song about the music industry’s and media’s constant belittling of Taylor Swift’s musical acclaim, wealth accumulation ad dating history - she mixes the venerable lyrics with an upbeat pop rhythm. But all the same, the song is incredibly relatable touching on societal pressures and images of what a woman can do and can’t, from professions, how they spend their money and their sexual lives. “They'd say I hustled - put in the work, they wouldn't shake their heads and question how much of this I deserve. What I was wearing, if I was rude; could all be separated from my good ideas and power moves?

And they would toast to me, oh let the players play I'd be just like Leo in Saint-Tropez”


4. Do It Like A Dude - Jessie J


"I can do it like a brother, do it like a dude" Jessie's powerful reminder we are only limited in our thoughts, but in reality "we can do it like the mandem". Next time you doubt yourself based on your sex, remember that "we can do it like the mandem".


5. Power - Lil Mix (feat. Stormzy)


“You’re the man but I’ve got the power” - a modern look at how relationships have evolved from male dominance to equality and even female dominance. The ladies sing “You should know, I'm the one who's in control. I’ll let you come take the wheel, 'long as you don't forget who got the power”. Reminding themselves, although traditional roles may be comfortable or preferable - women have learned to never fully give up their voice and power in relationships. This is further solidified in Stormzy’s rap verse stating : “when them boys talk loose and tell you power's for a king - you just play it cool and tell 'em power's not a thing. You look him in the eye and say, "I know I'm not a guy, but see there's power in my losses and there's power in my wins.””. Female empowerment has come too far to be allowed to slide back into old fashion ideals.


6. Woman's World - Lil Mix


"Try living in a woman's world".


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

INE

CO.

COM

Listen Now

© 2022 by INECO.

bottom of page