top of page
  • aa19339

The Hope Playlist


A playlist to provide light in the seemingly darkest and most painful days of human suffering through inequality and injustices.


Creator: Ama Antwi-Saki (Sociology & Human Rights)


1. Read All About It, Part III - Emeli Sandé


Emeli Sande’s ‘Read All About It’ is a powerful, slow melancholy melody which inspires listeners to stand up for their beliefs, and against oppression, inequality and injustice. She empowers listeners reminding them “You’ve got the word’s to change the nation, but your biting your tongue” “you’ve got a heart as loud as lions so why let your voice be tamed?” , “you’ve got the light to fight the shadows, so stop hiding away, come on, come on”. Allow this beautiful song to inspire you when other want to silence your experience - as Emeli sings “I wanna sing, I wanna shout, I wanna scream til the words dry out, so put it in all of the papers, I’m not afraid, they can read all about”.


2. Not Afraid - Eminem


“I guess I had to go to that place to get to this one, now some of you might still be in that placei f you're tryin' to get out just follow me I'll get you there”. Eminem brilliantly captures the feeling of fearlessness and bravery in his ‘Not Afraid’


3. Only The Young - Taylor Swift


“The wrong one’s think they’re right. You were outnumbered - this time, but only the young, only the young can run” - Swift’s hopeful anthem reassures listeners that politics don’t always stay the same - if you’re outnumbered now, you won’t always be. Place your hope in the future generation, and know that with time the voiceless will be heard. “Don’t say you’re too tired to fight, it’s just a matter of time”


4. Freedom - Beyoncé (feat. Kendrick)


In the spirit of the this playlist, breaking silences, becoming fearless and empowering oneself to do so - Beyoncé's freedom encapsulates the idea of setting yourself free to become free. Speaking up rather than silencing ourselves is good way to create a hopeful future for ourselves and generations to come. "Freedom, freedom where are you? 'Cause I need freedom too. I break chains all by myself - won't let my freedom rot in hell, hey I'ma keep running' cause a winner don't quit on themselves".




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

INE

CO.

COM

Listen Now

© 2022 by INECO.

bottom of page